Sleepy All The Time

Haven’t been updating much, and that’s coz I didn’t even turn on the laptop for most of the weekend! I’ve told countless people that I’m *really* sure that Baby B will be born early (in fact, I had hopes she would be born on the 7th, so that she will be celebrating her full moon with my birthday… ^^) , but …. looks like my gynae was right! Another 9 days more to go though I still have hopes we will go into spontaneous labor before that. The only thing I’ve left to do is packing for my stuff to transfer to my MIL’s house and to get the car seat padding from my sister. Actually, packing for the transfer to MIL’s place is a BIG thing. Coz a lot of my long pajama pants are still in my mom’s house. Coz long pajama pants so unsexy mah.. after married already, only wear pajama shorts. =p

readydaddyBig daddy is ready to bring Baby B home… but there’s no car seat padding!!

On Friday, my mom, dad and grandma crazily decide to visit me at home IN THE MIDDLE OF THE AFTERNOON. They kind of don’t get the concept that working from home does not mean I am just lazing around until I get a phonecall or something. When I’m working from home, I’m actually on the laptop all the time, unless I need to pee or I’m searching for food like a hungry ghost. -___- Actually, I don’t know why my mom doesn’t get this concept, coz I was already working from home before I was married, and she would see me lingering around the house, stuck to the laptop. Anyway, they came to tell me about their oh-so-fabulous trip to Chiangmai, which I couldn’t go because no airline will want me on their plane anymore. T__T Super jealous ok, coz I feel so deprived of travelling. Plus, this trip was a total family outing, so I feel like I’m not part of the family anymore coz I didn’t get to go! T_____T

We chit-chat for a while, they ate my brand new Kam Lun Tai mooncake (my husband said Kam Lun Tai is the best and “too bad they have closed shop”, but in fact, KAM LUN TAI IS STILL AROUND). I happened to be doing grocery shopping on Friday and was looking to buy another Tai Thong Jade Custard mooncake (told you I love it!!), but they didn’t have any stock. Bought a KLT pandan lotus single yolk which was served to my unexpected guests…. all gone! I saved 1/4 of it for my husband, who after eating it said, “Now that’s a real mooncake!” Meanwhile, my colleague W told me that the Jade Custard from Tai Thong does not have a yolk middle, so my husband was right in saying that the middle is “fake”. The middle “yolk” is actually custard, hence Jade Custard. I felt like such a dumbass when she told me, hahaha! Of course, when I told my husband he was right, he just went, “Sigh… everyone in the world can see it is a fake yolk, only you in the whole world got conned…”

Anyway, they bought us some souvenirs from Chiangmai! Aside from the touristy t-shirts, they bought me a mug from Celadon. The “uniqueness” of this mug is that apparently all the ceramics sold are made from this special clay… and the green color is derived from the baking process or something. Basically, it’s natural la, no artificial coloring added. My sister (LY) was very gung-ho about Celadon, so my parents decided to buy me a mug. They wanted to get one for my husband also but then vomit blood when they saw the pricetag was RM80 for one mug. My BIL (Kris) said, “LY has expensive tastes, she only can eat from plates from Celadon”. LOL! Anyway, I’ve used it a couple of times now and I do have to say that the cup quality is exquisite!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought of cooking dinner for my family on Friday, but it was wayyyyy too sudden, I just didn’t have enough raw ingredients for them. Just served them tea and my company (haha!) and then went on our own merry way. That night’s dinner was a simple dinner of egg drop soup with clams and Mongolian beef, both recipes from Rasa Malaysia. It is my first time making & eating egg drop soup and it is sooooo simple that I plan to make it more often! Don’t have to spend hours on the slow cooker, and the soup is tasty and nutritious with the humble egg. My husband was a bit scared off with the “blackness” of the Mongolian beef, but he did like it very much. Blame me for the “blackness” — I didn’t have enough leeks for this dish… was trying to finish what was in the fridge, and the green leaves were a bit withered so I didn’t include them in. :P

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Saturday – the start of our “mooncake fiesta” madness! After finishing the Tai Thong mooncakes, coupled with my mm-kam-sam-ness of not getting a taste of the Kam Lun Tai mooncake, I insisted to go to Midvalley for the mooncake fair. My husband was reluctant, but decided to go just so he could get a haircut along the way. I have to say, that I’m pretty disappointed with the mooncake fair at Midvalley! It is way too crowded, a lot of crazy grandmothers are grabbing away at the samples WITH THEIR FINGERS (even with toothpicks provided) and a lot of crazy “gimme gimme gimme” style shoppers who just push and shove without caring. They don’t even want to buy or enquire! They just want to grab at the miniscule free samples! So annoying!

I was mainly looking for yam paste, preferably Shanghai style, but NO ONE WAS SELLING THAT CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? The buzzword for this year seems to be “Musang King mooncake” – a lot of hotels were selling that, not only Tai Thong! In the end, we bought from Hilton (coz they had good service) and I bought one lonely mooncake from Westin though the guy manning the counter is seriously one annoying fellow! Ok, I pity him coz unlike all the other counters, he was manning Westin’s counter ALONE. But he moves at the speed of a snail, as if he hopes to annoy you (lining up) into giving up and just not buying from him. The way he even FOLDS the bill to hand back to the customer is as if he’s folding origami wtf. From wanting to buy 2 pieces of mooncake, I cut it down to one… he already takes donkey years to pack 1 cake, what more if it’s 2. Plus, their box design is not that great (butterflies — yuck!) and the price is insane! After tax, it is RM26.50! That is more than RM10 more expensive compared to Tai Thong or Kam Lun Tai. Yeah, yeah, this is “hotel standard”, but trust me, after eating that 1 piece that I bought – nothing great lah! Anyway, that fellow is the very definition of the word “por mar“. I seriously cannot tahan..

Anyway, here’s our “mooncake fiesta” celebration and how much we’ve eaten since then! (Clue: I only have 1 small mooncake left from Hilton….)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Only bought one lonely mooncake from Westin, so this is how the box looks like. FYI, the reason I bought from them in the end is because they were the only one that sold taro paste mooncake with baked skin. NOT SHANGHAI STYLE. It is something that I’ve not tried before, so I decided to get it. W told me that if it’s baked skin + taro paste = not nice, unless it’s Shanghai style…. man, I miss Shanghai style taro paste mooncake! :(

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The taro paste mooncake from Westin was very fragrant… it tastes nice but not SPECTACULAR and WOW THAT WAS SO WORTH RM26.50. The only unique thing about it is that it smells really good. But the paste is so dark, and it doesn’t taste particularly yam-like, so whether this was yam paste or lotus paste… who really gives a damn. My husband just looked at me with a padan muka face when I complained.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meanwhile, we bought a set of 4 mooncakes from Hilton, just so that we could get the box. One mooncake is RM20 (before tax), but before you think it’s “reasonable” for Hotel standard, the mooncakes are also really small. Like 75% the size of a regular mooncake. I feel like you can hold it in your hand and eat it like a bun, no need to quarter it to share. ;)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Though the drawer-style box is nice, they have an even NICER box in GOLD for those who purchase the Musang King mooncakes. The gold box is really nice and attractive, but no way am I paying for something that I’m not even gonna eat. The most unique mooncake I bought from Hilton is the Amaretto blue cheese one, and that is the only one I’ve not eaten yet. The other 3 are rather “traditional” type mooncakes. All taste ok, not bad, nothing spectacular. Sigh, really wasting time and money to buy mooncakes this year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh well, at least we ate at Chilli’s for lunch (the last time we ate there was at least 2.5 months ago). When I’m at Chilli’s it’s always either the fajitas or the country fried chicken. The country fried chicken used to be MASSIVE — I remember my friend D saying that it was impossible to finish everything. Now it seems like no great feat to eat everything on the plate… *afraid for myself*

countryfriedchicken

Unlike last weekend when I was busy cooking and baking up a storm, I really didn’t do anything this weekend. Sleep only. Sleep, sleep, sleep, eat, eat, eat. I didn’t even plan to cook dinner this weekend, coz my husband supposedly had to attend a friend’s wedding dinner. Ends up – he got the date wrong… -__-” So I had to randomly whip this up (thank God that I was already marinating the chicken – I’m prepared!). Dinner was stir-fry pea sprouts and lemongrass cilantro chicken. Yes, from Rasa Malaysia again!! Can I just say that the marinade for this is absolutely divine??? It smells soooo lovely and fresh, but I don’t think much of it got absorbed right into the meat, although I marinated for more than 24 hours! It seems like such a shame to throw away the marinade when you start grilling the chicken! Anyway, I found it a lovely recipe, especially paired with the sweet / sour dipping sauce, but my husband didn’t appreciate it as much. He said not 5-star enough for him. Cis bedebah!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh dear, just realised that this blog is turning into endless food pictures. Forgive me – Sunday is another day of more food pictures! Went to church and got MORE pressies from my SIL and BIL who randomly went to Australia! So nice! Hello husband of mine, how come we got no random trips wan? SIL and BIL actually bought this huge rocking horse for Baby B already, so really unexpected got even more presents! Baby B, when you come out must remember to thank Aunty A and Uncle K ok!! :D

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Got Tim Tams, a handmade card, crocheted booties & hairband (also done by Aunty Flo, yes she got a crochet-ing business going on!) and a koala rattle (!!!). So cute right? And everything is so pink, hahahaa! We all wound up talking for darn long at the church before going for lunch at Publika. Ate at Rakuzen… a bit sien when my husband asks me to eat there, but bans me from all the raw food. I wound up eating curry katsu don which he says is what Americans eat coz they don’t know what else to order in a Japanese restaurant. Lol! But curry katsu don was the perfect thing for someone like me craving spicy food, but cannot take spicy food due to heartburn. It’s got just enough spiciness to satiate my tongue, yet it is totally not spicy enough to aggravate the heartburn and acid reflux. In fact, after lunch….. I could still go back home and have a quiet nap time…. =p Yeah, what a lazy, lazy weekend!!

rakuzen2

rakuzen3  rakuzen

I was so full that I could do without dinner, but for some reason, my husband decided to play chef tonight. It’s a rare occurence, when he claims that his Hainanese blood makes him a natural in the kitchen, and even without referring to recipes, he will be able to conjure up something tasty. He shoo-ed me out of the kitchen so I couldn’t see what marinades he was using. And …. he USED MY EXPENSIVE PORK LOIN STEAKS!!! Hahahhaa, I was saving them up for a “Sunday roast”, and had planned some interesting sides with new potatoes and balsamic yams. In the end, he served me this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, it ‘s not very fanciful having just the lump of meat in the middle of your plate, but I do have to say that the marinade he used was very nice and flavorful! I don’t even know how he did it, he said he just based it off memories of what his grandmother used to make for him. He was worried that it wasn’t cooked properly through, but :

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a great effort for him, and though he didn’t prepare any sides, I always have a box of washed-and-ready-to-eat salad in the vegetable drawer, so I just popped one box open. The only bad part about him doing the cooking? I still have to do the washing! T___T Well, at least I know the dear man won’t be starving when I’m away on confinement…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

